Go to content

Over 40 Labour MPs to vote in favour of Heathrow Expansion on Monday

Posted on in Other news

Over 40 Labour MPs have said they will vote in favour of Heathrow Expansion in in parliament on Monday. The MPs, who sent the below letter yesterday, are also urging their colleagues to vote for the project.

Significantly, the group join 20 MPs from the Manchester area who have also written to the Secretary of State for Transport Chris Grayling in support of the project.

The full text of the letter

Parliament will vote on Monday night to end indecision and delay, and build a new runway at Britain’s hub airport – Heathrow.

It’ll create up to 180,000 new jobs across the country, delivering growth and connectiviy for our constituents. As this project will span multiple parliament s- including, we hope, a Labour government – it’s our responsibility to secure strong cross-party backing for this project.

We believe Heathrow can meet the Labour party’s four tests for expansion. Monday night’s vote is not a blank cheque – the huge benefits from expansion can only be achieved if Heathrow also meets stringent tests on air quality and noise. We will work to ensure legally binding safeguards are in place that will mean a new runway can only be built if it is environmentally sustainable. 

But the decision in principle is right: we urge our Labour colleagues to back Heathrow in parliament tomorrow.


  • Rushanara Ali MP
  • Adrian Bailey MP
  • Luciana Berger MP
  • Kevin Barron MP
  • Clive Betts MP
  • Ann Coffey MP
  • Neil Coyle MP
  • Wayne David MP
  • Julie Elliot MP
  • Louise Ellman MP
  • Jim Fitzpatrick MP
  • Mike Gapes MP
  • Mary Glindon MP
  • David Hanson MP
  • Graham Jones MP
  • Kevan Jones MP
  • Liz Kendall MP
  • Stephen Kinnock MP
  • Peter Kyle MP
  • Chris Leslie MP
  • John Mann MP
  • Siobhain McDonagh MP
  • Conor McGinn MP
  • Catherine McKinnell MP
  • Ian Murray MP
  • Bridget Phillipson MP
  • Luke Pollard MP
  • Angela Rayner MP
  • Rachel Reeves MP
  • Joan Ryan MP
  • Ruth Smeeth MP
  • Angela Smith MP
  • Gareth Snell MP
  • Virendra Sharma MP
  • Gavin Shuker MP
  • John Spellar MP
  • Graham Stringer MP
  • Wes Streeting MP
  • Gareth Thomas MP
  • Stephen Timms MP
  • Anna Turley MP
  • Phil Wilson MP

Make YOUR voice heard - Contact your MP

We’ve made it easy for you to show your support by contacting your MP in just 2 minutes using our online tool.